Stream thousands of fine art and hand-crafting classes with Creativebug. Check it out here!

Lac du Flambeau Public Library

The house on Sprucewood Lane

Book Cover
Your Rating: 0 stars
Star rating for The house on Sprucewood Lane

Publisher:
Pocket Books
Publication Date:
[2002]
Language:
English

Description

From the outside, some families appear to be untouchable. No conflicts within could cause ugliness or bitterness; no external force could shatter their assured, confident aura. The world saw the McQuade family through such a prism -- a slice of suburban perfection, a page-from-a-magazine existence for Melanie and Tom McQuade and their two gifted children. But Melanie's sister, documentary filmmaker Lex Cavanaugh, knows that nothing is as it appears; the truth of any picture lies in the eye of the beholder. And soon an unthinkable crime will shake Lex to the core, challenging everything she has known about her estranged family -- and herself. Lex receives the wrenching news in an urgent e-mail from her nephew, Jared: his ten-year-old sister Calista, a talented gymnast with Olympic potential, has been found murdered. Rushing from her home in London to Melanie's house in exclusive Westport, Connecticut, Lex re-enters a family living out its worst nightmare -- with each of the members cast in the light of suspicion, even among themselves. As the homicide investigation unfolds, a startling, unexpected group portrait reveals itself: Lex's obsessive, controlling sister, her TV-personality brother-in-law, and the intensely unhappy young Jared, in whom Lex sees her childhood self. Sifting through a decade of hidden indiscretions, raw resentments, and buried truths, Lex knows she must unlock the secrets of the past if there is any hope at all for their future. With a fresh voice and an unsparing eye, Caroline Slate has crafted a literary gem that is at the same time a tense, disarming psychological thriller in the tradition of Jacquelyn Mitchard and Ruth Rendell -- a page-turner that exposes the chilling, entangled secrets which may tear one

Also in This Series

More Like This

More Details

ISBN:
9780743418881

Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID910f7ade-2c38-4caf-2942-803d2b5c719f
Grouping Titlehouse on sprucewood lane
Grouping Authorcaroline slate
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-06-11 20:37:00PM
Last Indexed2024-06-20 05:35:09AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Slate, Caroline
author_display
Slate, Caroline
available_at_lacduflambeau
Lac du Flambeau Public Library
detailed_location_lacduflambeau
Lac Du Flambeau Adult Fiction Paperback
display_description
format_category_lacduflambeau
Books
format_lacduflambeau
Book
id
910f7ade-2c38-4caf-2942-803d2b5c719f
isbn
9780743418881
itype_lacduflambeau
BOOK - MASS MARKET PAPERBACK
last_indexed
2024-06-20T10:35:09.381Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_lacduflambeau
PB MYS FIC SLA
owning_library_lacduflambeau
Lac du Flambeau Public Library
owning_location_lacduflambeau
Lac du Flambeau Public Library
primary_isbn
9780743418881
publishDate
2002
publisher
Pocket Books
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Detective and mystery fiction
Domestic fiction
Psychological fiction
Women motion picture producers and directors -- Fiction
title_display
The house on Sprucewood Lane
title_full
The house on Sprucewood Lane / Caroline Slate
title_short
The house on Sprucewood Lane
topic_facet
Women motion picture producers and directors

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocationCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b13706573.i33473948Lac Du Flambeau Adult Fiction PaperbackPB MYS FIC SLA1falsefalseAvailableAug 01, 2023lfapb

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b13706573BookBooksEnglishPocket Books[2002]357 pages ; 24 cm

scoping_details_lacduflambeau

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b13706573.i33473948On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruetruefalsetrue99999999